Tips For Professional Looking Product Photos

When I was first starting out with Angry Spade, I did a ton of reading about the best ways to display products on a website. I got many different opinions but most people I talked to said that they prefer to see a photo of the real product. This makes perfect sense, but you can’t just go around snapping any old picture of the product you are trying to sell. The better the picture, the better the product will look. So, you want your photos to look as professional as possible. I have collected a few hints and tips along the way and I’d like to share them with anyone who is looking to learn a thing or two about photographing their t-shirts (I say t-shirts because that’s what I have the most experience with).

Don’t start out thinking that you need some amazing two thousand dollar SLR camera to take nice pictures with, I mean, it wouldn’t hurt if you had one, but you don’t need one. I myself have a small Canon 10 mega pixel camera and it works just fine for me; It’s just a matter of finding the right way to use your camera. Trying out different angles can make a world of difference. The best method that I’ve found so far is laying the shirt down flat on the floor and standing on a chair to take the picture from above. By doing this you don’t have to struggle to get the whole shirt in the shot and it turns out nice and even.

Another thing I would like to talk about is backgrounds because they can make a big difference in the way your pictures look. Sure a plain white background is fine, but why settle for that when you can do anything you want? Hard wood floors or carpet with patterns look good. Or of course there are other choices like taking your shirts outside where there are endless options like grass or gravel, cement side walks or you could even do what we did for Angry Spade and use a wooden deck as a background. Get creative, there is no reason not to!

When it comes down to looking at the pictures you’ve taken, don’t get discouraged when you realize you’re going to have to edit them. It doesn’t mean you suck at taking pictures, it’s just that your camera will pick up tiny details that you didn’t notice at the time. Small things like dust and lint find their way into photos no matter what, it’s nothing to worry about, just edit it out. This does require a bit of knowledge with Photoshop or a software with similar abilities but it is not hard to learn how to do. Instead of me telling you all how to do this in a boring lecture, I’m going to show you the video tutorial that I learned the best method from. You can thank Kelly Kiernan, the founder of Cure Apparel for this great video.

See, that’s not so hard now, is it? That’s about all of the hints I have to share with you guys, the rest is up to you to explore. Just remember to be creative and original with your ideas and everyone will love them. Take care and have an awesome weekend!!

PS- Don’t forget about our ongoing contest to win a free t-shirt!! You can read the details in this blog post.

Leave a Reply

